Finding Your Place in the Family

As I’m finishing up my post as youth worker for the church in three months, I’ve been reflecting on the last couple of years there and one of the thoughts I’ve been thinking about is on my place within the church family.

In my last two positions as a church youth worker, I’ve found it had to just ‘be’ me and truly be a part of the family of the church. In this current church post, my family and I moved closer to the church but still I don’t think we ‘fit’. I get on with the young people and the other volunteer leaders but don’t get invited to their social events and I get on with the old members of the congregation but again don’t get invited to their social events. I’m neither one or the other. I’m in the middle.

Part of being a church youth worker is about standing in the gap between the young and the old. And that is often seen as a benefit. But for me, its more of the curse of this line of work. You don’t really fit.

It also has something to do with the fact that I am an employee of the church. I’m not there because I’m drawn to the style of service, or because there’s lots of people my age; i’m there to work with the young people. Now maybe the problem is with that word, ‘work’. What does it mean to work for a church? How do you then become part of the church family when you’re there as an employee? Where do you draw the line between ’employee’ and ‘member’? where does the one begin and the other end?

So, it got me asking the question on twitter, “can you ever become part of the family of the church you work for?” And I’d like to hear some responses. I’d like to hear people’s thoughts because I don’t hear much about this side of the ‘work’. I haven’t seen many articles or training courses on how you integrate yourself into the church.

I realised I’ve asked a lot of questions but I’m keen to hear as many varied responses as possible.

So please…respond.

2 responses

  1. […] Finding Your Place in the Family (smoorns.wordpress.com) Rate this:Share this:TwitterTumblrPinterestStumbleUponEmailFacebookLike this:Like5 bloggers like this post. This entry was posted in children, Daily Life, family, Inspiration, life, Love, marriage, parenting, school and tagged children, College town, Education, family, family vacations, God, health, lessons, life, marriage, Medical school, medical school campus, Medicine, midwestern town, naivety, Parent, Parenting, teaching, travel, vacation, Youth by All that makes you…. Bookmark the permalink. […]

  2. […] Finding Your Place in the Family (smoorns.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

