Shocked by Volume

I hardly ever watch ‘live’ TV anymore.

What I mean by that is that I record everything on to my ‘generic satellite hard disk recorder’ so that I can watch it at a more convenient time. So I never have to sit through adverts anymore.

Last night, whilst watching a pre-recorded ‘Fringe‘, I noticed something peculiar.

The volume for the programme was fine. It came to the adverts and  I hit the fast forward button. When they were over I pressed play again and was suddenly hit by a wall of sound. Had it been that loud the whole time? Why had I  just noticed it?

We become so accustomed to things. We become unaffected by our surroundings. I guess that’s part of the process of evolution.

But every so often an event comes along that shakes us. It wakes us up out of comfort zone. We become aware. We see past ourselves.

And that’s a good thing. It might not always feel good at the time (the volume did momentarily hurt my ears) but it cause us to re-evaluate our lives, our processes.

In his second letter to the church in Corinth, Paul writes,

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!”

The original greek can also be translated this way,

“Therefore if anyone is in Christ, He sees creation anew; the old has gone, the new has come”.

We should see things differently because there is a new creation out there. We just need to wake up to it.

What are you oblivious to at the moment? Are there areas where you or your young people are just going through the motions?

What do you need to do to ‘wake’ up?

Leave a Reply

