Disappointment

The young folks at the church took the evening service last night and it went reasonably well. it didn’t necessarily flow spectacularly (I find that the more people you try to include, the less cohesive it it. maybe i’ll do a post on that, at some point) but it worked and the congregation seemed to engage with it.

Afterwards my line manager came up and arranged our monthly supervision sessions for the following Tuesday night. One of the things we will be discussing is the the future (or lack thereof) of the star inn. a purpose built community centre that the church owns. It’s a great little space but has been left unused for so long that it needs £30-£40k of repairs to get it up to speed and the church members would rather get rid of it than spend that money.

I understand everyone is cutting back and stock of resources needs to be carried out, but I can’t help being disappointed.

I had visions for that place. open mic nights, drop in youth clubs, after school clubs etc and they all seemed to have been dashed in the name of money. I get it. I really do. But it leaves me with some big questions. I’ve spoke to them about applying for funding but they really don’t seem that interested.

If the church building was in better shape I wouldn’t mind but a lot would need to be spent to make it suitable for any youth outreach.

So I’m left thinking about the future. My contract runs out August 2013 and in the state things are in, I’m not sure whether I would hang around. There seems to be a real lack of future planning in the decisions and that depresses me. in the short term it makes sense to get rid of the building (just like every council is doing right now) but is that really the best for the long term?

Maybe there’s a third way. Maybe it’s because i’ve been so set on doing things in this building that I can’t see anything else and if I take some time to sit, pray and reflect, God might throw out another vision (I haven’t had time to do that yet).

But right now, until I can make some time to reflect, I’m in a bit of a funk.

Have any of you been in the same position?

Any thoughts/ comments?

Leave a Reply

