Practicing the Sabbath

What a difference a few hours make.

After getting all down about YF last night, I decided to take a half day today and take my son to the Dean Park. And what a joy it was.

Owen comtemplating life

I forgot the simple pleasure of life but watching the wee man throw stones into the river brought it all back.

I don’t often ‘do’ the sabbath well. to take that time to rest and re-cooperate. But I got it today. I’ve always normally got my eye on the next e-mail coming through or answering that text that doesn’t really need answered.

But I was reminded of something today.

The only way to get better at something is practice.

I’m going to practice the Sabbath more

How about you?

One response

  1. […] go of everything doesn’t come easy. I’m not good at doing nothing…but I need to learn. Like Steven Mitchell pointed out the other day on his blog: “The only way to get better at something is practice. I’m going to practice the Sabbath […]

Leave a Reply

