Getting Carried Away with Theology

It’s true.

Sometimes I get carried away with theology.

Sometimes I get carried away in trying to create authentic experiences for young people to discover faith.

Sometimes I get carried away by wanting to fill their little heads with justice, liberation theology, being salt and light, the difference between open and closed theism, what the bible is, how faith works, what prayer is, how we live out our faith, who God is and how we experience him.

Sometimes I get carried away so much that I don’t realize how carried away I am getting.

On Sunday night, on the drive home from the youth event D:talks, one of the 1st year boys turned to me and asked,

“You see how the world is round, do people at the bottom feel like they are upside down?”

Sometimes God reminds me just how carried away I am getting.

2 responses

  1. resurrectionpower | Reply

    Lol! Keep it up mate, I think Jesus had (and still has with me!) the same problem. I think a funky comeback would be: ‘who ever said we were at the top?’ But then, I’m possibly more prone to get carried away than you.

  2. You’re right Jim.

    The danger could easily be, “how do I pass on all this info” as if i’m the one who has it right.

    when i really don’t. the more i learn, the more i realise how much i don’t know

Leave a Reply

