The product or the process?

During Holy Week (the week leading up to Easter) our church runs a series of evening services. I am leading the Good Friday evening service.

One  of my ideas is to put together a modern interpretation of the passion using a news report template. The news presenters will ‘break’ the story to the public and interview some of the people affected by it.

What was most important to me was that as many of the young people I work with could be involved in the service.

this morning the youth group chose their roles for the news report and started writing the script. These young people are aged between 12 and 14 years old.

Here’s the problem. I’m a perfectionist. I am a filmmaker and believe in making my movies the best that they can be.  This ethos crosses into every area of my youth work and life. I think we have a responsibility to make things great.

But in allowing the young people to write the script, I risk the end product not being as ‘technically’ good as it could be. The script won’t be as good. The acting won’t be amazing etc.

But that’s the point.

I believe, as many have stated before me, that youth work is about the process, not the product. like the faith I try to live out, youth work is a journey.

Through their involvement, the young people will learn how to put a short film together. They will learn that they are creative. They will have a sense of achievement something that they have helped make will be broadcast to the whole congregation.

Are there times when we focus more on the product than the process?

Maybe, that’s something to think about.

Leave a Reply

